Faiza Abrahams-Smith – Executive Director

Faiza Abrahams-Smith’s early working life, in Vumani Project, was spent advocating and lobbying for children’s rights and for access to early education.

Raymond Louw – Board Member

Raymond Louw is a veteran journalist, editor, media commentator and media freedom activist.  He was the editor of the Rand Daily Mail from 1966 to 1977 and general manager of SA Associated newspapers (now Times Media Group) from 1977 to 1982.

Amina Frense – Chairperson

Amina has a long career of several decades in the mainstream media industry both locally and internationally.  She is a former Managing Editor: News and Current Affairs at the SA Broadcasting Corporation.

Glenda Daniels – Board Member

Glenda Daniels is an associate professor in Media Studies at the University of Witwatersrand. Glenda, also a writer and a media freedom activist, has a 20-year career as a journalist in South Africa having worked for a variety of newspapers and magazines

Dimakatso Qocha – Board Member

Dimakatso Qocha is an experienced ICT policy and regulation specialist.  She is currently a Councillor of the Independent Communications Authority of South Africa (ICASA).

Jovial Rantao – Board Member

Jovial Rantao is the Group Ombudsman for Independent Media. He was the founding editor of the African Independent.